Did You Know?

Did You Know?

Did you know that every KidsTek class, from kindergarten to high school, incorporates the “ISTE Standards for Students?”  ISTE stands for the
International Society for Technology in Education and their standards for learning, teaching and leading in the digital age have been accepted both nationally and internationally as the definitive measurement of digital literacy for students.  ISTE Standards for Students (ISTE*S) have been adopted by the Colorado Department of Education as required learning for each student in our state.  The ISTE*S skills are divided in 6 categories:
1. Creativity and Innovation
2. Communication and Collaboration
3. Research and Information Fluency
4. Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Decision Making
5. Digital Citizenship
6. Technology Operations and Concepts
Each of these categories is broken down by grade level and includes performance indicators that demonstrate student comprehension.  KidsTek instructors integrate the ISTE*S into our project-based lesson plans at each school, allowing them to meet the individual needs of students enrolled.
If you ask our students what they did in KidsTek during class, they will usually say they had fun and played on the computer.  What they don’t realize is that each activity on the computer, from Microsoft Office applications to game programming is actually designed to increase ISTE*S proficiency.  If you are curious about which ISTE*S skills your student is working on during KidsTek, please speak with a KidsTek instructor.  They are required to cite the standards used in every lesson plan they write.  The KidsTek mission is to increase technology literacy of K-12 students at Colorado’s highest-needs schools and by using the ISTE*S guidelines, we can ensure that our students are receiving age-appropriate computer instruction that is aligned to what they are learning during the school day.
For more information about ISTE*S, please visit: iste.org
Categories: KidsTek News

Learn More About KidsTek


Donate to KidsTek